November 13, 2013

  • Solar Systems

    Working on installing a couple solar daytime air heaters on the house. Inspected a house with them on it, new owner didn't want them, offered to help seller take them down if I could haul them off, he agreed. So in another few days, I will have solar heat. The panels are old General Solar panels, I wish I had new glazings for them, but not easy to obtain or retro-fit onto these panels. I think they'll do fine, despite 30+ year old glazing. Made a wood frame for them to sit in on the deck, will secure them to the deck. Have to do some insulating on the air ducts, and route the intake duct yet, and then install the circulation fan and thermostat. Then additional insulation under the frame, attach sheet metal to the frame, and do some waterproofing. One, two days work tops to finish.

    Need to get my furnace fixed as well, darn thing won't stay on. Stays on long enough to raise the temps one or two degrees, then shuts off. Circuit board or something.

    May have to break down and buy corn for the corn furnace this winter. Had hoped to help harvest, maybe get paid in corn, isn't looking real positive.

    Thursday the Torch plays for the City Mission, then I might sneak down to the new arena and take in the Trans Siberian Orchestra show. I do like to see them, haven't been to the new arena yet.

    Tomorrow lunch meeting out at Big Shots, put a few rounds through the 1911. Should be fun. Long time since I've done something like that.

    Got a nice dis from a Realtor in Fairbury over an Inspection I did. Seems he was pissed that the agent representing the buyer wasn't present, that the front door was open (never mind the storm door was closed) and we were walking in and out, and the prospective buyer's kids were running around excited. Apparently that makes me unprofessional. Really pissed me off. Probably a good thing he said that in an email, if he'd have said that in person I might have had to insist on the head-wall test; see how many times I can put his head through the wall... what a schmuck. Seems you never can please everyone, I know this, but frustrating still...

    Work football concessions this Sat, then one more home game after Thanksgiving, that should do it for concessions this year. Wasn't such a fight as last year trying to find help, despite a few Does "retiring" from helping...at least one that really needed to.. bless her heart. Working on getting past due members to pay up, not an easy task. Always something, then there are several that just like to wait til the absolute last minute...frustrating to pour time and effort and resources into getting someone to pay their dues. For Christ's sake, people, it isn't that much money. $100? Frickin' two tanks of gas. We even have a monthly auto-deduct from your checking account if you want. Couldn't be easier. I'd love to see the membership at plus 300 again. Fund raising continues to go well for the HVAC equipment at the Lodge, at $13k out of $19k.. I need a few "blessed" Elks to step up and write a larger check. I know of at least two well off ones that haven't chipped in; and at least one more that could afford to give a grand. Find about half a dozen of those, we'd have this retired... then move on to kitchen renovation, or possibly Lodge Room carpet. People don't realize how much it costs to keep a building in good condition...always something.

    May have snagged a pickup I have been after. '64 GMC longbox 3/4 ton 4WD. Has later model running gear in it, 454 stick shift. Has a sunroof which I didn't appreciate, but otherwise what I am after. Wish the body weren't so rusted, but after all, it is nearly 50 years old... another project for the yard, take a number. Need to get a hoist or two bought, get a few more cars inside. Winter is here already, still a crap ton of stuff to do outside. Not to mention getting started on Maureen and Kev's house...

    Had birthdays last weekend in Neb City, was nice to see everyone. Bills' family moved back here a few months ago. I like to be around them face to face, much better than reading their FB posts. They are so opinionated on religious matters you cannot have a discussion with them. Fundamentalist doesn't begin to describe it. I worry for them both, neither one are in great health, and with all those kids, from 17 to diapers... this old "children are blessings" thing needs to stop....
    Well, time to get back after Inspection reports, get them finished and sent out. Radon reports due as well. Always something...

    Laters...