November 20, 2004

  • Well, ready to throw in the towel for today. Day started out rough, but wound up OK. Finished the wiring in the horse barn, got the tank heater in and hooked up, lights all done. Need to get a pitchfork and a stall cleaning fork. Also need to find a bale fork for my tractor. Went into town about 3, got mail, went to the bank, checked with Kyle to see if he needed a ride home. Allen had weight training til 6. Went to Elks, dropped off the flags, at least they aren't taking up room at my place. Stopped at Dietze to look at Mandolins, I am getting the urge to play again, but mine is shot. It was a cheapie when I got it. I would like to find an F style, good used one would be OK. A Washburn or a Gibson would be nice. I saw a new Alvarez, wouldn't mind having that one, since it is the same as my guitars, but can't do $650. I will have to find one used somewhere. Ordered the seat cover kit for the motorcycle, priced tires. Great Plains is high, $110 for a tire my size. I can do better than that I know. Stopped and saw Kyle and Allen a few minutes, paid them for helping me at Weeping Water a few weeks ago. I finally got paid for that. Anita said she was not going to go to London with the kids next Christmas. I was surprised, but didn't push the issue. I am sure it is $$, always seems to be with her. Whatever. Came back to the acreage and started in on the basement, moved a bunch of stuff around, and swept a lot. Got the shelves unearthed and ready to move out, got the area cleared where the stairs will go, for the most part. I have to wait til morning to finish. Tiger tangled with something, and Mittens jumped in to defend him. Not sure what it was, didn't hear a dog or another cat. But he came in all slimed and dirty like he'd been rolled around by something large. Didn't seem injured, just spooked. Had fur in his claws, so he had tangled with something. I grabbed a floodlight but couldn't see anything. Got them all in except Fuzz, she is spunky enough she can take care of herself. Kyle has indoor soccer in the morning at 9 and 11, supposed to pick up Mary Ann from the airport sometime around noon, she is getting back from a seminar in Denver. Will come home tomorrow afternoon, tackle the basement again. Want to get started on the bathroom too, will draw some plans for that. I have to find a smaller vanity, the one I got from Betty was a 36", I can only accomodate a 30". Oh well, shouldn't be too tough to find. Need to get some studs and sheetrock, frame up walls. I want to put a pocket door in, will have to get the frame for that. Save a little room. Best scram for now, hit the sack...later...

Comments (3)

  • Mork calling Orson, come in Orson

    Hello Mo's dad!!! I'm one of Maureen's floormates and as I'm a little addicted to this web-journaling thing, thought I'd say HI.  Mo left campus a few hours ago (shazbut) and we already miss her!  Have a good Thanksgiving!

    --annie     Nanu-nanu

  • Hope you had a good suprise in you house last night.  It was missing in my room this morning.  Hope you guys have a good Thinksgiving.

  • Ork calling....Ork calling....deedeedeedit.....lol   It has been a great week(end) so far. Mo snuck up to the acreage unbeknownst to many, which gave her a chance to enjoy her kitties and her horse without a cellphone, or certain neurotic people hounding her. She surprised us when we got home from Scouts, sitting in the dark in the living room, watching us all run around trying to figure out where she was and what was going on, acting like total idiots. We all ate pumkin pie I had baked earlier, and watched "Holiday Inn", an old Bing Crosby movie that is fitting this time of year. One of our customs to watch it every Thanksgiving time, also Miracle on 34th St., Bells of St. Mary's,  and as many versions of Scrooge as we can find. So far we are up to 4, and also an American Christmas Carol, (Scrooge) which stars Henry Winkler (Fonzie!) and is set in the depression era 30's. Great stuff! You haven't lived til you watch old black and white Christmas movies. Holiday season wouldn't be the same without them! This morning I let her sleep in til 7:30, then cooked venison kiolbasa and scrambled eggs. And yes, with ketchup. What can I say, I spoil my daughter! We looked over some music videos I was downloading for her, played with the kitties and fed the horse, then headed into Lincoln to deliver Real Estate Guides. Not much work and provides good gas money. Then she hooked up with some friends at her old H.S., and I did a House Inspection. (Yay $$) Last I heard, she was heading to Skeeter Barnes, a popluar restaraunt where her BF works, then to her Mom's to eat and hang with friends. I finished her laundry, and will drop it past her Moms after while, then I am headed to the bowling alley, try out my new old ball. I had one for 20 years, didn't fit my fingers anymore. Finally got it redrilled today, so it will be fun to try it again. Later....

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment